Nuvita Review + Brownies!

Nuvita.

I love oil. Don’t you?

There isn’t a time that I don’t bake with oil, because it gives things flavor. It just wouldn’t be the same, would it?

Mostly, I use coconut oil, but I am open to many other types of oil as well.

Nutiva (www.nutiva.com) recently sent me some different oils to review.

Among them was an oil I had never even heard of: red palm oil.

I’ve heard of palm oil, but not red palm oil. So I researched and found out that red palm oil is high in vitamins A + E and can be used in almost anything.

I figured the best way to use my red palm oil was to put it to the test with brownies.

After all, if it doesn’t taste good, why should I use it?

I was surprised to discover red palm oil tastes a lot like olive oil, making it perfect for anything you want to use it in.

So, I did half coconut oil and half red palm oil, crossed my fingers and put it in the oven.

20130827-152207.jpg

Mission accomplished. 🙂

These brownies are fudgy and not quite as sweet as your typical brownie, so if you’re not a fan of fudgy things, this probably isn’t the recipe for you.

These have been kid-tested and approved. In fact, more than half the pan is gone. 😉

Best of all, these brownies have oats in them, giving them a light oat-y flavor.

Red Palm Oil Brownies (with oats)
gluten & dairy free
can be vegan

1/4 cup coconut oil
1/4 cup red palm oil
1/4 cup cacao powder
1 cup sucanat or other granulated sweetener
2 eggs or 2 tbsp ground flaxseed + 1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons water
1/2 cup almond flour
1/2 cup oats
Optional: 1/2 cup walnuts

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees

2. Mix together coconut oil, red palm oil and cacao powder with a mixer. Add sucanat, eggs, almond flour and oats. Mix until combined well.

3. Spray an 8 x 8 pan and pour the brownie mixture in.

4. Bake for 28 minutes, then cool for 10-20 minutes before slicing. Enjoy!

20130827-153234.jpg

I was very impressed by the selection of oils Nutiva sent me and will be buying them again. Red palm oil has a great flavor and will tastes good in baked goods.

20130827-153343.jpg

Thanks to Nuvita for allowing me to review their products. This was great fun!

20130827-153428.jpg

Leave a Reply

