Coconut Love!

Coconut Love.

So, the other day I ventured into Whole Foods as I normally do.

I was minding my own business when BAM! I came face to face with a coconut.

Now, I have ALWAYS wanted to crack open a coconut (don’t we all), but only until recently did I want to cut out the flesh and make my own coconut butter.

In short, I walked out of Whole Foods that day with my friend, the coconut.

As soon as we drove into the driveway, I scrambled out of the car like a madwoman and grabbed a hammer and a screwdriver and got to work on draining the juice and cracking open my prize.

Then, I took it inside and started to cut out the flesh.

I was so excited…until my mom tasted a piece. And spat it out.

The horror! Turns out my beautiful coconut was rancid. Rancid, I tell you, rancid!

Disappointed, I dumped out the juice and flesh into the trash can. And dreamed of coconuts…

A few days later, I went to Whole Foods again (are we seeing a pattern here?) and talked to a cashier about my coconut mishap. She told me to simply grab another coconut and I could have it…free of charge! I happily skipped out of the store holding yet another coconut.

I went home and cracked it open, drained the juice…then the moment of truth.

My mom tasted a piece. And she didn’t spit it out! My coconut was perfect, no disgustingness here.

Dissembling a coconut is a lot easier than you think. You’ll be a pro in no time! 😉

How to Disassemble a Coconut

You will need:
Hammer
Screwdriver
2 bowls
1 plate
1 plastic bag
Cutting board
Knife
Jar

20130207-184046.jpg

Note: I advise you to do this outside unless you want

1. This picture is of the three “eyes” on a coconut. To drain the juice, you put the screwdriver through the softest “eye”. Tip the coconut upside down and drain the juice into a bowl. Transfer to jar.

2. Next, place the coconut in the plastic bag. Take the hammer and hit the coconut several times until it cracks open.

20130207-184733.jpg

20130207-184806.jpg

3. Now, take all your supplies inside to begin cutting up the coconut. Place one half of the coconut on a cutting board.

20130207-185030.jpg

20130207-185045.jpg

4. Designate one plate/ bowl for the coconut skin and one for the flesh.

20130207-185212.jpg

5. Cut the flesh off of the skin and place in bowl. Wash all the pieces off before transferring to a clean bowl. Coconut flesh should be white. Save for use in a jar or container.

I apologize for the informal dishware, we’re renovating and we don’t have many things out…

One thought on “Coconut Love!

  1. Pingback: Coconut Butter « ༄glutendairyfreedom

Leave a Reply

