Wholesome Chow

Introducing Product Reviews!

When I first started this blog, I had in mind to help those with intolerances by whipping up delicious gluten dairy free creations. I also had it in mind to help my own family, as most of them are allergic to gluten and dairy. I started emailing companies asking them for samples of their products so that I could review them on my blog.

It worked.

Within a week, I received this lovely All Purpose Baking Mix from the folks at Wholesome Chow.

20130128-153042.jpg

When I asked them for a sample, they happily obliged and were very kind. It shipped here within 3 days! I was so excited when I received it.

20130128-153146.jpg

It doesn’t hurt that’s its Non-GMO, organic, corn free, and vegan either.

This mix contains xanthan gum and sea salt, so there’s no need to salt your baked goods or even add xanthan gum to make it all hold together.

You can find Wholesome Chow on their website at www.wholesomechow.com or, you might be able to find them at Whole Foods. They offer a couple of mixes on www.amazon.com.

Today, I made some griddle cookies with the mix and they turned out perfecto!

20130128-153532.jpg

I made them with my happy face spatula. 🙂

20130128-153626.jpg

Griddle Cookies
gluten & dairy free
vegan
Note: I liked how these tasted, but my mom likes things sweeter than me. So, maybe add 2 tbsp of granulated sugar to the mix to make it a little sweeter if its what you prefer.

1 3/4 gluten free all purpose baking mix
1/4 cup coconut palm sugar
1/4 cup stevia (or 1/4 cup more coconut palm sugar)
1 tbsp ground flaxseed
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
1/3 cup coconut oil
1/2 cup raisins
3/4 + 1/3 cup almond milk

1. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, coconut sugar, stevia, ground flaxseed, baking soda and nutmeg. Mix well.

2. Using a fork and knife, cut in the coconut oil until coarse crumbs form. Stir in the raisins.

3. Add milk to the dry ingredients and stir together until moistened and dough holds together.

4. Heat griddle to 400 degrees. Grease with coconut oil. Drop tablespoonfuls of dough onto the griddle. Flatten with spoon. When brown, flip over and cook the other side. You can serve hot or freeze cookies for later.

20130128-155320.jpg

Bottom line: This baking mix may require a little bit more liquid than the average recipe, so if you recipe calls for 1 cup of milk, maybe add 1/2 cup or more if necessary. Overall, a great mix! No need for eggs, which is a plus for vegans.

Note: I was not endorsed by Wholesome Chow, I only choose products I believe in.Thank you 🙂

4 thoughts on “Wholesome Chow

Leave a Reply

