Sugar Cookies! (with a cinnamon twist)

Cookie Season is on it’s way.
Oh wait. It’s already here.
I went to a Christmas party yesterday and they served gluten free sugar cookies. Inspired, I went home and decided to make a sugar recipe of my own.

20121212-213412.jpg

While I was making them, it occurred to me: what would they taste like with a bit of cinnamon?
I added in the cinnamon.
And…drumroll please…they tasted AWESOME!

20121212-213546.jpg

I busted out the ole cookie cutters and got to work making cinnamon sugar cookies.
Contradictory, right? 😉

Sugar Cookies! (with a cinnamon twist)
vegan
gluten & dairy free

1/2 plus 1/4 cup earth balance
1/4 cup coconut oil
1 1/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup applesauce
2 1/2 cups gluten free flour (I used Pamela’s baking and pancake mix)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 teaspoons salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

With a mixer, cream earth balance, coconut oil and sugar until combined. Add applesauce and vanilla to the mix. Next, add the gluten free flour, salt and cinnamon. Mix well until no flour is visible. Roll dough on floured bread board with a rolling pin (use the gluten free flour you used before the flour the board) and break out those cookie cutters! 🙂

20121212-215117.jpg

Stick them in the oven for 7 minutes. Everyone’s oven is different, so if you need to leave them in for longer or less time, it’s okay. Lesson: keep an eye on those cookies! 😉

Note: I accidentally published a post earlier with the same title as this one that was unfinished. I’m sorry if an unfinished post ended up in your inbox today 🙂

The below cookie is frosted with my delicious dairy-free frosting

I’m just gonna post a few photos to make you guys jealous, don’t worry…

20121212-215310.jpg

20121212-215333.jpg

20121212-220834.jpg

2 thoughts on “Sugar Cookies! (with a cinnamon twist)

Leave a Reply

